News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

RATTAWU honours NAN, others

Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state presents the RATTAWU award to NAN Exec. Director, Finance and Accounts, Mr. Jones Afolabi. Photo: Albert/NAN

By Joshua Olomu and Bukky Adewumi

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), has been honoured with the ‘Outstanding Nationwide News Coverage Award’ at the 1st National Merit Award of the Radio, Television, Theatre and Arts Workers’ Union of Nigeria (RATTAWU).

Also honoured were the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) and the Voice of Nigeria (VON).

Similarly honoured on Thursday in Abuja, were retired and practicing media professionals, former heads of media organizations, as well as political leaders who have contributed to the growth of the Nigerian media.

A former Director-General of the NTA, Mallam Usman Magawata, and that of the FRCN, Dr Ladan Salihu received the ‘Award for Distinguished Service to Father Land.’

From left: Ex-Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chief Emeka Wogu; National President, Radio, Television Theatre And Arts Workers Union (RATTAWU), Comrade Yemisi Bamgbose; Managing Director, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), Mr. Bayo Onanuga; and Executive Director, Finance and Accounts, NAN, Mr Jones Afolabi, at the first National Merit Award of RATTAWU in Abuja on Thursday Photo: Otu Albert/NAN

Sen. Theodore Orji, a former governor of Abia state, received the ‘Media Friendly Personality Award’ and Prof. Atahiru Jega,former INEC Chairman, received the ‘Stabiliser of Nigeria Democracy Award.’

Also, Mrs Afolashade Esan, Permanent Secretary Federal Ministry of Education, received the ‘Pillar of Support Award’.

Dr Umar Ganduje, Kano State Governor and his Ogun State counterpart, Sen. Ibikinle Amosun, received the awards for ‘Excellent Performance in Governance’ and the ‘Transformatory Performance in Governance Award,” respectively.

Speaking at the occassion the National president of RATTAWU, Dr Yemisi Bamgbose, said that the awards were in recognition of hard work, professionalism and patriotic services Nigeria.

“A portion of our National Anthem says, the labour of our heroes past shall never be in vain.

“We believe an award should be bestowed only to those who have genuinely contributed to society and most especially as it concerns us, the Media Sector.

“The event is also considered necessary to recognize and appreciate some of our members who have excelled in their chosen careers,” he said.

He added that the event was also meant as “home coming as it provides opportunity for the younger ones to meet with those God had used in laying solid foundation for the industry”.

Bamgbose commended President Muhammadu Buhari for his unrelenting efforts which led to the release of the 21 out of the kidnapped Chibok girls.

“It is a cheering news and a positive development that has clearly shown that the good days are here again.”

Sen. Amosun, while responding on behalf of the awardees, expressed delight, and commended RATTAWU for its thoughtfulness in organizing the event.

“I am very happy to be a part of this history-making in event which is designed to honour hard work and patriotism.

“This award is undoubtedly credible because no one collected a penny from me before receiving this award,” he

Past governors, ministers and labour leaders were present at the award night. (NAN)