News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

Three cabinet members resign from S/Africa parliament

South Africa’s President Jacob Zuma

Three former Cabinet members from South Africa’s ruling African National Congress (ANC) have resigned from their positions as parliamentarians.

President Jacob Zuma removed the three – Dipuo Peters, Tina Joemat-Pettersson and Mcebisi Jonas – from the national executive on March 31.

They had been serving as ministers for Transport, Energy and deputy Finance respectively.

Mr Jonas announced his decision to step down on Thursday morning.

The office of the ANC’s chief whip has confirmed that Mr Jonas will no longer serve as an MP.

“Comrade Jonas has served both as deputy minister and MP with absolute distinction and dedication.

He has also served the movement and the South African people in various capacities over the years.

On behalf of the ANC we thank comrade Jonas for his selfless service to the movement as its public representative,” said ANC chief whip, Jackson Mthembu.

President Zuma recalled Mr Jonas and his boss Pravin Gordhan while the two were on an investor road show in the UK. The move triggered speculation that the duo was on its way out of Treasury.

In fact, days after being removed from President Zuma’s Cabinet, the names of the former Finance Minister and his deputy no longer appeared on parliament’s website as MPs, giving rise to speculation over the status of their seats in parliament.

Parliaments also confirmed Ms Joemat-Pettersson’s resignation.

“Parliament confirms the resignation of National Assembly member and former Minister of Energy Tina Joemat-Pettersson. The resignation is effective from March 3,” said parliament in a statement.

On her part, Ms Peters said she had been waiting for the opportunity to resign as an MP for the past two years.

Read more: Africa Review