NUJ Presents Awards to 4 governors

1070 0
1070 0
Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state
Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state

By Olukayode Babalola

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Nasarawa State Council, on Thursday in Lafia presented “Awards for Excellence in National Developmen’’t to four state governors and others.

The recipients were; Governors Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa, Gabriel Ortom of Benue, Yahaya Bello of Kogi and Solomon Lalong of Plateau.

In an opening remark, Wilson Bako, Vice-President of NUJ (Zone D) described the ceremony as “an opportunity for journalists, often described as critics and watchdogs of the society, to highlight the good efforts made by Nigerian leaders”.

He congratulated the people and government of Nasarawa on the 20th anniversary of the state and pledged to ensure that journalists in the state do their job with high level of professionalism.

“This is NUJ little way of contributing to the successes and development of Nasarawa state.

“It is also an opportunity to let the world know that we do not ignore our leaders who go the extra mile to improve the wellbeing of Nigerians,’’ Bako said.

Mr Dan Yakubu, Chairman of the NUJ state council said the awardees were carefully and competitively selected.

He thanked the governors for exhibiting exemplary democratic leadership which, according to him, has transformed their respective states tremendously.

“As members of the press, we have watched distinguished personalities who have contributed in building peace between and beyond our frontiers.

“The awardees today have shown exemplary leadership qualities and a high sense of patriotism,’’ he said.

Speaking on behalf of the recipients, Gov. Lalong, who was represented at the event by his Special Assistant on Media, Mr Dan Manjang, expressed gratitude to the NUJ for awards.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports other recipients of the awards were Sen. Abdullahi Adamu, Sen. Suleiman Adokwe and the Emir of Lafia, Dr Isa Mustapha.

Join the Conversation