Bolt, Rudisha, others for IAAF Awards

1891 0
1891 0
Usain Bolt and Mo Farah nominated for IAAF Awards
Usain Bolt and Mo Farah nominated for IAAF Awards

By Modupe Oremule

The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has nominated Usain Bolt, Wayde Van Nierkerk, David Rudisha and others ahead of the IAAF Award Night in Monaco on Dec. 2.

This is contained in a statement on Tuesday by IAAF Communications Department.

It said that this week marked the opening of the voting process for the 2016 World Athletes of the Year.

The list of nominees included 10 men and 10 women who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts.

The nominees for 2016 World Athlete in the men category are: Usain Bolt of Jamaica, Thiago Braz da Silva of Brazil, Ashton Eaton of U.S.A, Mo Farah of Great Britain.

Others are Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge, Conselsus Kipruto and David Rudisha, Omar McLeod of Jamaica, Christian Taylor of U.S.A and Wayde van Niekerk of South Africa.

In the women’s category are Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana, Ruth Beitia of Spain, Vivian Cheruiyot of Kenya, Kendra Harrison of U.S.A, Caterine Ibarguen of Colombia and Bahrain’s Ruth Jebet.

Others are Sandra Perkovic of Croatia, Caster Semenya of South Africa, Elaine Thompson of Jamaica and Poland’s Anita Wlodarczyk.

It said that a three-way voting process would determine the finalists.

“The IAAF council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms.

“The IAAF council’s vote will count for 50 per cent of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and public votes will each count for 25 per cent of the final result.’’

It said that three men and three women finalists would be announced by the IAAF at the conclusion of the voting process.

According to the statement, voting closes on Nov.1, and the male and female World Athletes of the year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Awards Night.

Join the Conversation