Breaking: Lewis Hamilton wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

868 0
868 0
Lewis Hamilton: wins Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton has won the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, his 11th this season.

The British driver who has already won the 2018 championship, his fifth also broke record, becoming the first driver to break the 400-point barrier.

Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari came second, followed by Verstappen of Red Bull.

Overall, Hamilton ended the year with 408 points, followed by Vettel 320 and Raikonnen 251. Verstappen for Red Bull got 249 points and Bottas who is Hamilton’s Mercedes mate got 247 points to come home fifth in the drivers race.

Vettel who had tried to upstage Hamilton this season applauded his rival: “He’s the champion and he deserves to be the champion… We will try to come back stronger to give him a run next year”, he said.

Hamilton also paid his respect to Vettel: “It’s been a real honour and privilege racing against Sebastian. I know that he’ll be coming back stronger next year”.

The 33-year-old Briton, who started from his 83rd pole position, came home 2.5 seconds ahead of his main title rival four-time champion German Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari.

The win came after a race that began with an horrific opening lap crash from which Nico Hulkenberg escaped unhurt, his blazing Renault car having barrel-rolled into the barriers.

Dutchman Max Verstappen finished third ahead of his Red Bull team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, in his 100th race for Red Bull and 150th overall before moving to Renault, and Valtteri Bottas in the second Mercedes.

Carlos Sainz came home sixth for Renault ahead of Ferrari-bound Charles Leclerc of Sauber, Sergio Perez of Force India, Romain Grosjean, who had tangled with Hulkenberg on the opening lap, and his Haas team-mate Kevin Magnussen.

Retirement-bound two-time champion Fernando Alonso finished 11th for McLaren in his 311th and farewell appearance.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation